skip navigation

Hockey Operations Comittee

What is the HOC?

Throughout the season the term HOC comes up in conversation from time to time around the glass at the rink or in the newsletter.  HOC is an acronym for Hockey Operations Committee. 
The HOC is responsible for all on-ice player development as well as coaching development.  In all aspects, this separate committee will report to the BYHA Board of Directors and all recommendations and proposals will be passed through to the BYHA Board of Directors for approval.
Currently there are ten positions on the HOC; including, Vice President,
Player Development Coordinator A/B/C Coordinator, A.C.E/Coaching Coordinator, Girls’ Coordinator, Tryout Coordinator, Squirt Coordinator, Mite/8U Coordinator, Ice Schedule Coordinator, and Tournament Coordinator.  In addition, both boys & girls high school coaches attend the meetings.  Meetings are conducted prior to the Board of Director’s monthly meeting. 
If you are interested in being part of the HOC, or you have any questions, please contact HOC Vice President.

Wanted: Jr. Gold Coordinator Position

Junior Gold Coordinator - Job Description

The BYHA has an open position for the Junior Gold Coordinator:

The responsibilities for the Junior Gold Coordinator include, but are not limited to the following:

  • Attending the Junior Gold Coordination Meeting (in June and November)
  • Coordinate the jerseys for the season as well as the equipment needed for the players
  • Work with BYHA Ice Scheduler to schedule games, tournaments, home tournament (scheduled in June) and Practices.
  • Coordinate a group of qualified coaches to offer to HOC and BYHA BOD for head coach selection.
  • If there are enough players for 2 teams, have a tryout system in place to decide which players are assigned to which teams.
  • Work with HOC Coaching Coordinator for coaching assets for practices and games.
  • Manage the coaches that have been assigned by HOC and BOD, be an asset for them.
  • Be available to help the coaching staff with practice and games.


The candidate should have the following Up to Date:

  • USA Hockey CEP Certificatio
  • Registration with USA Hocke
  • Safe Sport Registration
  • Age Specific Module
  • Background Check
  • Coaching Code of Ethics

If interested in making a commitment to this position, please submit your request to

The request for this position will be considered until the week before the scheduled interviews.

An interview for all interested candidates will be held during the week of May 28th-31st.

Hockey Operations Committee

The operations committee meets at 7:00pm the first Sunday of the Month at the Buffalo Civic Center.

HOC Meeting Agenda

Committee Members

All HOC Members

Group Email Link

Yuri Preugschas

HOC VP (Term Expires May 2020)

Phone: 763-258-3594

Paul Heyerdahl

Coaching Coordinator (Term Expires May 2020)

Jamie Johnson

Player Development Assistant (Term Expires 2019)

Jon Varner

Goalie Development (Term Expires May 2020)

Scott Winter

Tryout Co-Coordinator (Term Expires May 2020)

Mark Lemen

Tryout Co-Coordinator (Term Expires May 2020)

Tailon Kubu

Squirt Co-Coordinator (Term Expires May 2019)

Ryan Lenton

Squirt Co-Coordinator (Term Expires May 2020)

John Reynolds

ABC Coordinator (Term Expires May 2020)

Thomas Johnson

Player Development Co-Coordinator (Term Expires May 2019)

Jenny Sabetti

Away Tournament Coordinator (Term Expires May 2020)

Phone: 612-708-7701

Lena Gawtry

BYHA President & Safesport Coordinator

Phone: 612-386-1104

Kent Baker

Mite/8U Co-Coordinator (Term Expires May 2019)

Phone: 612-366-6191

Wes Asleson

Mite/8U Co-Coordinator (Term Expires May 2020)

Phone: 612-868-0019

David Schmidt

Girls Coordinator (Term Expires May 2020)

Nicole Grahek

Ice Scheduler (Term Expires May 2019)

Aaron Johnson

Boys HS Head Coach

Dave Carothers

Girls HS Head Coach